March 9-11, 2007
Renaissance Hotel
Washington, DC


Friday, March 9
9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.

Location: National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22230
(Room locations to be determined)

New PIs Meeting
See New PI Meeting Agenda
1:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

Poster Presentations on
Graduate Student Research

4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Grand Ballroom Foyer

Location: Renaissance Hotel
999 Ninth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Registration for NSF GK12 Annual Meeting

Grand Ballroom North Poster Set-Up
Numbered boards correspond to abstracts
5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Grand Ballroom Central
Opening Plenary
Welcome and Overview
Dr. Rosemary Haggett, Acting Director, Division of Graduate Education, NSF
Dr. Cora Marrett, Assistant Director, Directorate for Education and Human Resources, NSF
Dr. Sonia Ortega, GK12 Program Director, NSF
6:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Grand Ballroom Foyer
Networking Reception
Grand Ballroom North
Poster Preview
Posters will be displayed for entire meeting

Saturday, March 10
7:30 a.m. - 8:45 a.m.
Renaissance Ballroom

Breakfast and Networking
8:45 a.m. - 9:45 a.m.
Renaissance Ballroom

Dr. Arden Bement, Director, NSF

State of GK-12
Dr. Sonia Ortega, GK12 Program Director

10:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Rooms

Small Groups by Topics (repeated in the afternoon)

Communicating GK-12 to the Public Through the Media
Dr. Nancy Moreno, PI, and Dr. Sonia Rohmati-Clayton, Co-PI, Baylor College of Medicine
Dr. Rosemary Smith, PI, Idaho State University
Dana Topousis, Office of Legislative and Public Affairs, NSF

Developing International Collaborations for STEM Graduate Students and K-12 Teachers

Dr. B.L. Ramakrishna, PI, Arizona State Univeristy
Dr. Kevin Truman, PI, Washington University
Tim Wetzel, Fellow, Johns Hopkins University

Allan Miller, Office of International Science and Engineering, NSF

Education Research: What's Relevant and Usable
Dr. Myles Boylan, Division of Undergraduate Education, NSF

Evaluating Activities/Lessons/Modules Developed by Graduate Fellows
Dr. Carol Brewer, PI, University of Montana

Inquiry in the K-12 Classroom
Dr. Mandy Munro-Stasiuk, PI, Kent State University
Dr. Scott Linneman, PI; Megan Riddle, Fellow; and Margaret Morgan, Partner Teacher, Western Washington University

Institutionalizing GK-12/Changing the Culture
Dr. Doug Levey, PI, and Suzan Smith, Program Coordinator, University of Florida
Dr. Satish Nair, PI, University of Missouri, Columbia

Integrating Graduate Fellow Research into the Classroom
Dr. Sally Horn, PI; Dr. Ken Orvis, Co-PI; Bryan Schultz, Fellow; and Greg Metcalf, Partner Teacher, University of Tennessee
Dr. Ken Kaneshiro, PI; Erin Baumgartner, Co-PI; Laura Dewan, Fellow; and John Sawyer, Partner Teacher, University of Hawaii-Manoa
Dr. Fiona Goodchild, Co-PI, University of California-Santa Barbara

GK-12 Program Evaluation and Data Collection
Presenters for Program Evaluation:
Abt Associates
Presenters for Data Collection:
Macro International
NSF Division of Graduate Education Evaluation Team

11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m.
Grand Ballroom North
Poster Session
Poster boards are numbered to correspond to abstracts

Arizona State Purdue
Auburn Rutgers (Gates)
CalState Northridge St. Joseph's
Colorado School of Mines San Francisco State
Columbia (McGourty) Texas A&M (Bednarz)
Drexel Texas A&M Health Sci Ctr
Duke U of Arizona
Emory U of Arkansas
Florida Inst of Tech UC Berkeley (Johnson)
Georgia Tech U of Central Florida
Idaho State U of Colorado (Sullivan)
Illinois State U of Hawaii at Hilo
Kent State U of Idaho
Louisiana State U of Louisville
Michigan State U of New Mexico (Fledderman)
Montana State U of North Texas
North Carolina State U of Northern Colorado
Northeastern U of Southern Maine
Ohio U U of Texas El Paso
Pennsylvania State Washington State
Polytechnic U  
12:45 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Renaissance Ballroom
Box Lunches
Join a "Birds of a Feather" Discussion Group
2:15 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Renaissance Ballroom
Bill Hammack, University of Illinois, College of Engineering
3:15 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.
Meeting Rooms
Small Group Sessions
Repeat of morning sessions.
New speakers for Inquiry in the K-12 Classroom
Miguel Boriss, Project Manager; Kelly Turner, Fellow; and Grant Bowen, Partner Teacher, Western Washington University
5:00 - 6:30 p.m.
Renaissance Ballroom
Presentation and Networking

Career and Fellowships Opportunities for STEM Professionals
Dr. Ric Weibl, AAAS Education and Human Resources Program
Dr. Cynthia Robinson and Brianne Miers, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellowships Program
Dr. Frances Colón, 2006-07 AAAS Fellow, U.S. Department of State
Dr. Christophe McCray, 2006-07 AAAS Fellow, U.S. Department of Defense
6:30 p.m.

Dinner on Your Own

Sunday, March 11
8:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.
Renaissance Ballroom Foyer
Breakfast and Networking
Grand Ballroom North
Poster Session
Poster boards are numbered to correspond to abstracts

Baylor Coll of Medicine U of Memphis
Clarkson U of Minnesota
Johns Hopkins U of Missouri Columbia
North Dakota State U of Missouri St. Louis
Ohio State U of Montana
U of Pittsburgh U of Nebraska
Rutgers (Scott) U of New Hampshire
Texas A&M (Simanek) U of New Mexico (Collins)
Tufts U of Oklahoma
U of Alabama Oregon Inst of Marine Bio
U of Alaska U of Pennsylvania
UC Berkeley (Gillespie) U of Puerto Rico
UC Santa Barbara U of South Carolina
U of Cincinnati U of Tennessee
U of Delaware U of Utah
U of Florida U of Wyoming
U of Hawaii Manoa Washington U
U of Illinois Chicago Western Washington U
U of Illinois U-C Wichita State
U of Maine U of Washington
9:30 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.
Renaissance Ballroom

Iron Scientist Competition
Arizona State and University of Arizona
Colorado School of Mines
Idaho State and University of Idaho
Kent State
North Carolina State
Pennsylvania State and St. Joseph's
Texas A&M and University of Texas El Paso
University of Arkansas
UC Berkeley
University of Central Florida
University of Hawaii Hilo
University of Southern Maine

Masters of Ceremony:
Dr. Larry Chew and Mike McKee, University of Central Florida

11:15 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Renaissance Ballroom
Closing Plenary
Awards and Final Remarks
Dr. Sonia Ortega, GK12 Program Director, NSF
12:00 p.m.